Homepage Writers Who newsroom

Three finalists announced today in annual award for ag show excellence in NSW

Announcement posted by Writers Who 16 Jun 2021

Gulgong, West Wyalong and Blayney individuals recognised

The peak body for the 192 agricultural shows in New South Wales today announced three finalists in the annual recognition for individual excellence amongst the vast volunteer network.

Agricultural Societies Council of New South Wales president Tim Capp says this award recognises a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the show movement in the field of strategy, leadership, inspiration, organisation, or implementation.

The three finalists all hail from the central west of the state, in West Wyalong, Blayney and Gulgong. 

Finalist Phillip Nankivell was nominated by the Blayney Agricultural and Pastoral Association.

“Phillip has been president of the show society since 1983 and does an outstanding job leading, encouraging, and guiding the committee. After covid lockdowns and show cancellations in 2020, Phillip was determined that there would be a show this year.,” Mr Capp said. 

“Phillip has been central to improvements to the showground, the collaboration of different user groups and a fruitful relationship with the local council.”

“He too has a vision around the inclusion of younger members, placing the show society in a good position for the future.  Young stewards are shadowing senior stewards so they will gain the knowledge to continue staging successful shows in Blayney in years to come.”

Gulgong Show Society, the first society to run a full show in 2021 as many others had cancelled due to covid restrictions, nominated Rose Jackson.

“Rose never missed a Gulgong Show as a child and grew up to become president.  Today she holds the positions of treasurer, sponsorship manager and secretary,’ Mr Capp said.

“To wear so many hats and ensure everything is running smoothly, Rose dedicates many hours and calls on her extensive skill set. Since Rose has been involved with sponsorship the Show Society is in a good place financially, predominantly because she has a great rapport with the members of the community who in turn support the show. 

“During covid cancellations last year, Rose engaged show members with competitions run online through Facebook and was the driving force in the 2021Gulgong Show going ahead.  Over 3000 people visited the show in the small town, the most people in the Show’s history.”

Finalist Lyall Wilkinson was nominated by West Wyalong Show Society.

“Lyall has been an active member of the Show Society for over 50 years.  He has been the Steward for the Cattle section, organised the Hoof to Hook competition for many years, and has been a driving force behind the involvement of the local high school students during the Show,” Mr Capp said.

“He has been responsible for bringing the next generation into the movement. He encourages students to take on junior stewards positions and has assisted with young judging workshops and mini field days.” 

“Lyall has been instrumental in the upgrade of showground facilities to encourage more community use and participation. He is heavily involved in the monthly community market day which helps the show society financially.”   

Previous winners include Brenton and Lynette Potter (Nimmitabel), Beverley O’Ryan (Nimmitabel), John Templeton (Lake Cargelligo), Greg Holland (Cobargo) .

“Millions of people go to agricultural shows every year, and they’re almost entirely run by volunteers. This is a great opportunity to recognise some of those individuals” Mr Capp said.

The winner will be announced on 19 June 2021 at the NSW State Conference themed “Adapt, Sustain, Grow” for agricultural shows, with shows joining digitally from ten regional locations Armidale, Bathurst, Bombaderry, Casino, Dubbo, Goulburn, Narrandera, North Ryde, Port Macquarie and Singleton.

Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons of Resilience NSW will open the conference, and topics will include recruiting volunteers, engaging younger people, tips for running a covid safe show and success stories from shows across the state.